This site is an archive. Content is no longer being updated.

Nothing is original

In Web stimulus on February 17, 2009 at 2:18 pm

Nothing. There’s nothing original. So I might as well give up now. Goodbye.

That’s what I often end up mumbling to myself, usually an hour or so after I’ve finished writing something new, once the initial elated feeling that it was the most powerful piece of prose ever committed to pixels has dissipated, to be replaced by the awful realisation that someone, somewhere, probably did it all before. And did it far better, too.

When I came up with the name Writers’ Bloc, that joyful sensation asted for perhaps the shortest time I have ever experienced, possibly no more than three seconds. I knew with absolute certainty that the domain would already have been snapped up – not just once, but a number of times. I was right.

Because nothing is original, and because once I have an idea in my head I don’t like to let go of it, I didn’t let it stop me buying this .net version of the web address. However, I thought it might be very community-minded of me to link to some of the other people and places that thought of this name long before me. Consider it my small public service.

  • Writers’ Bloc – a spoken word performance collective based in the Scottish capital, Edinburgh. They sell chapbooks, too.
  • writersbloc.co.uk – features articles by Jon Kane on “making your life remarkable, marketing on the internet and music”.
  • Writers Bloc Los Angeles – an independent literary and cultural series. They have events in LA, if you happen to be in the area. Which I’m not.
  • Writer’s Bloc – they sell stationery out of Oregon. I can feel my stationery fetish kicking in as I type. Maybe they’ll send me some in return for this free publicity and the two or three hits it will no doubt send their way. Or maybe they won’t.

That’s enough gratuitous outbound linking to other people’s online endeavours for now, thank you very much.

Vaughan Simons calls himself the Editor of Writers’ Bloc because he has always longed for such a grandiose job title. He writes online under the increasingly pointless pseudonym of An Unreliable Witness, is a contributor to PIFFLE, and throws his other words and web detritus on Unreliably Witnessed. He’s also appeared in The Corduroy Mtn.

  1. The internet is a copy machine. At its most foundational level, it copies every action, every character, every thought we make while we ride upon it. In order to send a message from one corner of the internet to another, the protocols of communication demand that the whole message be copied along the way several times.
    http://singyourownlullaby.blogspot.com/2009/06/copyright.html

Comments are closed.