This site is an archive. Content is no longer being updated.

I've Come So Far

In Poetry on June 9, 2009 at 9:11 pm

Consider me

Bereft

At a loss

Stabbing my palm

With the point of my pen

Treading water

Just filling a page

Consider me

Aged sixteen

The back of my eyes

Burned in the light

Sent me dizzy

And hot

The air exploded with hope

Like the bloke

From Shawshank

In the rainstorm

But I was doused

By the drench of displeasure

The page is wet

My pen won’t work

So I stab my palm

With the point of my pen

Consider me

When did I last

Fill in a page

To the bottom

Am I waiting for this page to start

Or was it full

Already

And I smudged it out with my hand

Consider me

Bereft

At a loss

With a blank damp page

And a bleeding

Palm

Matthew Bionic is a pauper and occasional writer living in the miserable leafy suburbs of Manchester. He lives off skinny lattes and toasted leaflets. Bionic has written under a pseudonym in newspapers (lots of times) and magazines (sometimes) and is a failed stand-up comedian. You can read more on his blog, Ghosts On The Roadside.

  1. I like this a LOT.

  2. Why thank you, Ani. You’re my new favourite person.

Comments are closed.