This site is an archive. Content is no longer being updated.

The Scathing Critic

In Poetry on August 19, 2009 at 8:29 pm

He opened a new ezine
specifically dedicated to
the writing of extremely
bad poetry to encourage
the vitriol of its readers.

Any form, any subject
matter was welcome as
long as it insulted the
masters and included
some crudely written
sex or violence.

The submission guidelines read:
“Send in your worst shit. Stuff you wouldn’t even use to wipe your ass with. The crasser, the more deranged – the better! Send in work which will force our readers to howl in execration. Make them want to consume your entrails and then bury your sad ass alive.

The worst poem will receive a signed copy of my latest chapbook: ‘Saints, Sadists & Mother Fuckers’. (Ed.)”

*

During the first week, his site ‘The Scathing Critic’
received in excess of 10,000 hits.
The poetry is foul. Vomitous.
It makes the editor gag in jubilation.
The poetry really stinks!

*

The winning entry selected for the first Poem of the Week is posted:

My Poetry is So Bad …

My poetry is so bad that my concrete poems are made out of concrete.
My poetry is so bad it thinks a mixed metaphor is an alcoholic beverage.
My poetry is so bad it considers readings on gender as a signal to cross-dress.
In fact, my poetry is so bad that instead of rejection letters I receive lumps of shit.

George Anderson grew up in Montreal and now lives in North Wollongong, Australia. He has published over 420 poems since 2002. His chapbook, ‘Dancing On Thin Ice’, is available though erbacce-press. He blogs at BOLD MONKEY.

  1. I dug this. More.

  2. If you dig more man, check out the links to my blog above. Start with the Vimeo clip and Kill Author.

  3. ha!

    there is nothing funnier than the truth. truthfully.

  4. I’m still waiting for that editor to send me his ‘Saints, Sadists, and Motherfuckers’ chap. Sigh.

Comments are closed.