This site is an archive. Content is no longer being updated.

This Piece of Writing

In Process on January 26, 2010 at 10:00 pm

I fell in love with this piece of writing about fifteen minutes ago when I decided to start writing it. Rather, I fell in love with the idea of writing it, since it didn’t exist yet. But now that I have started writing it, I am officially in love with this piece of writing. The idea I had in the shower was to write a piece of writing that I would be in love with from the beginning, and then begin it by declaring my love for it. This piece of writing, the one I fell in love with the idea of seventeen minutes ago when I decided to start writing it and subsequently fell in love with it itself, is what you are reading now. I am in love with this piece of writing, but also that writing is a means of something, that I can have an idea to write a piece of writing I am in love with and then go do it. I was in the shower when I decided to start writing this, I mentioned that earlier, and now I smell like my deodorant. In the shower, I thought to myself, I really can’t believe how much in love with writing I am, I wish I could channel that love into one piece of writing, I wish there was some way to declare it, to get it off my chest, maybe I could write all my love into one particular piece of writing about my love for writing that piece of writing and this is it. What’s great is that I can keep writing sentences into this piece of writing that I love like I am doing now to make it more lovely so that I will love it more. I have control over how the sentences feel and sound and that makes me love it. Partly because I have control over it and partly because I respect the subtle manner in which it wants to reveal its personality to me, like having a kitten. My love for this piece of writing is like one’s love for one’s kitten. That is a good analogy. I love that I had the idea for that analogy and was able to incorporate it into this piece of writing that I love even more now. This may be the last piece of writing I ever write, because I don’t know if I could ever love a piece of writing as much as this. I imagine myself happy for the rest of my life when I finish writing this and print it out and fold it up and keep it in my wallet forever. I am going to disown everything else I have written until now, someone else can have written those other pieces of writing, I don’t want to have. I have all I need now, this piece of writing that I am still writing sentences into and that promises to keep me company until I die. I will have a lifetime full of reading this piece of writing, of looking at its words, of reading it again and again in order to re-invigorate my love for it. I will laugh every time I get to ‘now I smell like my deodorant.’ I will think back to that day when I took a shower and decided to start writing this piece of writing. I may even decide to read it backyards word by word if I get bored, or maybe jumble the words up randomly and see what happens. I may travel to Paris and have it translated to French and then have someone teach me to read and speak French. Bottom line is, I am finally going to be happy, now that I have this piece of writing that I have fallen in love with. I’m about done writing this piece of writing now. I am going to submit this piece of writing for publication somewhere so other people, if they want to, can read this piece of writing that I love and will hold dearly when I’m on my death bed, so they can know that there is love in the world. I will always remember that I submitted this piece of writing for publication and that it may or may not have been published because I am declaring that I will submit this piece of writing for publication in the piece of writing itself. If this piece of writing is published, then it is my gift to people who happen to read it and who don’t know how to love or think they will never find love. If you think love doesn’t exist or that you are the kind of person who will never find love, just look at me, Darby Larson, writing and being in love with this piece of writing forever.

Darby Larson’s work has been published or is forthcoming in New York Tyrant and Caketrain. He is the editor of ABJECTIVE.

  1. Great job, Darby. I really enjoyed this one.

  2. thanks jason!

Comments are closed.