This site is an archive. Content is no longer being updated.

Lessons from a week of handwriting

In Process on February 3, 2010 at 10:00 pm

Scribble scratch a swiggle sways and loo

       oooo

       oooo

       ps down under

              across

the graph paper my pen

       wa-

              nd-

                     er-

                            s

                                   finding intuition

to be a most gallant enemy.

The letters slanted

              slither

into stylistic neologisms
and I scribble out another word.

Try, again

       again

       again

       again

       again

with the pen
fixed

              RIGIDLY

              di/g/g/in/g/

              into my forefinger

              fighting

              with my mind to say,

       “Curve this way again and again we can swoop and fly free through the lines!”

The blue ink flows in

                                                                                    blots

                                                                      bled brighter

than I intended dotting the i and is that a t?

An ever careless caress
of the intoxicating

       d

              l

                     e

triad leaves me

sweeping

                            to

& fro

       for moments

                            beyond

       & soon
       uncertain of my place on the paper.

Thankfully

 

double-spaced

 

I can review my writings
to decipher plain text code
a cursive conundrum waits on each line
I print in fine points below each word
indeterminate the word
I expect to become
in its place or perhaps a prediction
of my thought process before.

Jason Spidle, former denizen of the corporacracy in the field of market research, current unemployed freelance writer, alwayss purveyor of panoptican.org/words, lives in Columbia, SC.

